View in your browser




2020 Winners

Read here the full press release in the languages related to the winners

The Hague / Brussels, 25 May 2021

The European Commission and Europa Nostra have just announced the 2021 winners of the European Heritage Awards / Europa Nostra Awards, the EU prize for cultural heritage funded by the Creative Europe programme. This year, Europe’s top honour in the heritage field goes to 24 exemplary achievements from 18 European countries*:

Category: Conservation Projects

Gare Maritime, Brussels, BELGIUM

Fredensborg Palace Garden, DENMARK

Vardzia Rock-Cut Complex, GEORGIA

Haus Am Horn, Weimar, GERMANY

Plaka Bridge, Epirus, GREECE

18 Ormond Quay Upper, Dublin, IRELAND

Wooden Church of Urși Village, Vâlcea County, ROMANIA

Besòs Water Tower, Barcelona, SPAIN

Mas de Burot, Els Ports Natural Park, SPAIN

Category: Research Projects

FIBRANET - FIBRes in ANcient European Textiles, DENMARK / GREECE

Control Shift - European Industrial Heritage Reuse in Review, GREECE / THE NETHERLANDS

ART-RISK - Artificial Intelligence Applied to Preventive Conservation, SPAIN

Category: Dedicated Service to Heritage by Organisations & Individuals

Gjirokastra Foundation, ALBANIA

Technical Committee on Cultural Heritage, CYPRUS

Rita Bargna, ITALY

GEFAC - Group of Ethnography and Folklore of the Academy of Coimbra, PORTUGAL

Category: Education, Training and Awareness-raising Projects

Following in the Steps of Bulgarian Folklore, BULGARIA


The Invention of a Guilty Party, Trento, ITALY

Holidays! In the East and West - The School Church, Groningen, THE NETHERLANDS

European Solidarity Centre - Permanent Exhibition, Gdańsk, POLAND

MorĂłn Artisan Lime, MorĂłn de la Frontera, SPAIN

Archaeology at Home, UNITED KINGDOM

Morus Londinium: London’s Heritage through Trees, UNITED KINGDOM

The Award winners were selected by independent juries composed of heritage experts from across Europe, upon evaluation of candidatures submitted by organisations and individuals from 30 European countries.

The Hague

Watch videos

The announcement of the Award winners 2021 has just been made at a live online event co-hosted by Mariya Gabriel, European Commissioner for Innovation, Research, Culture, Education and Youth, and Hermann Parzinger, Executive President of Europa Nostra.

The online event was opened with a forceful and engaging video message by the President of the European Parliament. David Sassoli paid tribute to the Award winners: “Through your professionalism, your dedication, your artistic sensitivity, you have helped revitalise the Europe of today and to project it into the future”. Referring to the Conference on the Future of Europe and the New European Bauhaus, two major initiatives recently launched by the European Institutions, the President of the European Parliament emphasised: “Culture and artistic heritage are not secondary elements, but they represent fundamental tools to foster cohesion, to strengthen our humanity, to give meaning to our belonging. (…) Culture and heritage are essential elements from which to start again and from which to relaunch our European policies”.

Speaking at the online event, European Commissioner Mariya Gabriel said: “The winners of the European Heritage Awards / Europa Nostra Awards 2021 are ambassadors of the beauty of heritage in Europe, whether it be traditions and know-how, breath-taking architecture or the way that heritage can unite communities and generations. I truly believe that the successful preservation of our tangible and intangible heritage depends on the commitment of the people behind it. With these awards, we therefore honour all those exceptional men and women, heritage professionals, architects, scientists and volunteers who bring our common heritage closer to our hearts. Their vision should be applauded.”

Europa Nostra’s Executive President Hermann Parzinger stated: “Each year, the winners of the European Heritage Awards / Europa Nostra Awards exemplify the incomparable creativity and commitment of those who work to protect, valorise and pass on Europe’s precious inheritance to the next generation. This year’s laureates powerfully demonstrate how heritage offers solutions and paths to recovery in the face of seemingly insurmountable challenges, as we take action for the climate, mobilise for sustainable urban and rural development and tackle the many threats to our core European values. We applaud their outstanding achievements: may they serve as inspiration and encouragement for future action for so many heritage professionals and enthusiasts across Europe and beyond.”

The Portuguese Minister of Culture and Acting Chair of the EU Council of Ministers responsible for Culture Graça Fonseca also shared her video message of congratulations: “Cultural heritage does not recognise borders. Languages, science and art sail beyond the limits that geography and history establish. (…) My congratulations to all who participated and to the winners, because it is your work, dedication and talent that best represents these ideals. My thanks to the European Commission and Europa Nostra for this annual initiative, one that is important for our shared European project”.

IMPORTANT: Heritage supporters and enthusiasts from across the world are now encouraged to discover the winners and vote online to decide who will win this year’s Public Choice Award. The Public Choice Award winner will be announced during the European Heritage Awards Ceremony, which will take place on 23 September in Venice, the epidemiological situation permitting. The Grand Prix laureates, each of whom will receive a monetary award of €10,000, will also be made public on this occasion.

* The winners are listed alphabetically by country.

Press releases in 16 languages | Selection of Photos | Official Videos | Meet the Winners Videos | Awards Publication Â

The European Voice of Civil Society committed to Cultural Heritage


Lange Voorhout 35, 2514 EC The Hague, The Netherlands | This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Brussels Office

Rue de Treves/Trierstraat 45, 1040 Brussels, Belgium | This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Image credits: Europa Nostra

Stay in touch with Europa Nostra! Click here to make sure you are subscribed to our emails

Follow us

Twitter   Facebook   LinkedIN   YouTube   Flickr

With the support of the Creative Europe programme of the European Union